Tourist Visa for Nepal

Nepal has a flexible visa system and provides visa for almost all country's citizens. Excluding some countries, foreigners can obtain visa at arrival to International Airport or all India's and China's border. Indians do not need visa for Nepal but should posses Government provided Identity Card. SAARC members citizens are granted visa at no cost for 30 days.
Visa Issued by Nepalese Embassy
Visa Facts: Visas are granted for three different durations 15 days, 30 days and 90 days. Tourist can stay maximum 150 days in a visa year from Jan 1st to December 31st. A tourist who has departed before the expiry of the period specified in the visa issued in a visa year shall not be allowed to use the visa by adding the remaining period to another visa year. If any foreigner who has entered into Nepal towards the end of a visa year desires to spend even the period during which he may stay in Nepal with the tourist visa of the other visa year, he may use such facility. However, that the computation of the fees for such period shall be made on the basis of the total period of his stay.

Visa Fees: Credit Cards, Nepali currency and Indian currency are not accepted as a payment of Visa fee. Accepted currencies are: Euro, Swiss Franc, Pound Sterling, US Dollar, Australian Dollar, Canadian Dollar, Hong Kong Dollar, Singapore Dollar and Japanese Yen.

Visa Facility     Duration     Fee

Multiple entry     15 days     US$ 25 or equivalent to other accepted currency
Multiple entry     30 days     US$ 40 or equivalent to other accepted currency
Multiple entry     90 days     US$ 100 or equivalent to other accepted currency

Visa in Advance: 11 countries citizens are requested to obtain visa in advance because of different reasons. You must obtain visa in advance from the Nepalese Mission Abroad or Embassy of Nepal. Some of the countries citizens who have to take visa in advance are:
  • Afghanistan
  • Cameroon
  • Ethiopia
  • Ghana
  • Iraq
  • Liberia
  • Nigeria
  • Palestinian Territories
  • Somalia
  • Swaziland
  • Zimbabwe
Visa On Arrival: Except the above mentioned 11 countries, other country's citizens can get visa on arrival in Nepal. Currently, Citizens of these countries can obtain visa at the Nepal Immigration office on 8 different places.
  1. Tribhuvan International Airport, Kathmandu
  2. Kodari, Sindhupalchwok
  3. Kakarbhitta, Jhapa
  4. Birgunj, Parsa
  5. Belhia, Bhairhawa
  6. Nepalgunj, Banke
  7. Mohana, Kailali and
  8. Gaddachouki, Kanchanpur
Recently, Nepal government has decided to provide Visa on Arrival to some of the citizens of above mentioned 11 countries if they meet any of the following criteria:
  • Diplomatic and Official Passport holder with official invitation letter validating visit to Nepal.
  • Dependent and relatives of those working in Nepal having status of diplomatic and official visa. The relationship should be verified by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Government of Nepal.

Click here to get your Visa to Nepal (Online)

Post a Comment